Crossing the Bar

As we cross into a new year and consider our goals and plans for 2008, here are some thoughts…

"Crossing the Bar"

SUNSET and evening star,

And one clear call for me!

And may there be no moaning of the bar,

When I put out to sea,

But such a tide as moving seems asleep,

Too full for sound and foam,

When that which drew from out the boundless deep

Turns again home.

Twilight and evening bell,

And after that the dark!

And may there be no sadness of farewell,

When I embark;

For tho’ from out our bourne of Time and Place

The flood may bear me far,

I hope to see my Pilot face to face

When I have crossed the bar.

Lord Tennyson Alfred (1809–1892)

 

When I was reading the missionary biography of Ruth Stull called Sand and Stars, Byron thought he recalled a poem that reminded me of the title. He found it for me and I like it so much. Her book reminds us to keep our feet planted firmly in the sand while reaching for the stars. We must be of this world while looking to the world to come. We can’t forsake the earthly tasks to which we have been assigned in a purely spiritual quest. Rather we must be spiritually minded in all that we do. Washing the dishes to the glory of God. Hanging out the laundry in His service. Wiping up the spilled milk in the Spirit. Well, not in the crazy, happy spirit of some, but in the Spirit of Christ who was a servant. I’m saying now that I am a 24/7 primary care giver. A mother is one who gave birth to a child. Any teenager can do that. I’m more than a mother, I am my child’s spiritual care taker, physical care taker, and as homeschoolers, I am their mental mentor as well. How can one person be all that they have to be to take care of their family and teach their children at home – with our eyes on heaven pressing on to that eternal reward. As I look to 2008 my goals in homeschooling are simple – get through the books and stay happy. But my higher goals is this – I want my boys to see our learning as a step to future greatness for God’s service.

Here’s to a Happy New Year!

______________________________________________________________

 

