Planting Seeds of Kindness

"How often have you heard people say ‘Nice guys finish last’ or believe that nice women end up as everyone’s doormat?"  (Leigh Anne Jasheway-Bryant, "30 Ways to Be a Nicer Person," Family Circle, p. 62, 11/9/04)

I’m trying to be a "nicer" person.  My husband claims I’m not very kind!?  I think the matter lies in – I’m not always nice to him!  You know the old – You get what you give!  But nonetheless, knowing that you can’t change anyone but yourself, I’m starting on a campaign to be nicer, sweeter, and kinder to those around me during the month of June.  Actually it’s not a new thing in our house, but more like a revival!  It’s a revival of love and caring for those with whom we spend the greater part of our lives – the ones that live in our own house.  It’s something about which we need to be reminded.  You see, it seems it’s easier for me to be nice to those that I don’t have to feed, bathe, and constantly care for!

So here’s my list Ms. Jasheway-Bryant:

  1. Try to say "Yes" as often as you can and if you must say "No," do it in such a way that you avoid negative words.
  2. Kiss people when they get up in the morning.
  3. If they moan when you say, "Make your bed," lend a helping hand.
  4. Ask a family member who’s watching t.v. if you can get them a drink or a snack.
  5. Leave a kind note on someone’s pillow or dresser thanking them for a kind deed.
  6. Offer switch and let a boy sit in the front seat of the car.
  7. Avoid all negative name calling of any sort.
  8. Cut out ugly words from your vocabulary – dummie, stupid, good-for-nothing, etc.
  9. Smile at someone every hour on the hour.
  10. Leave a tooth-fairy gift under someone’s pillow even if they haven’t lost a tooth!

I could probably add some more, but you get the idea.  Let’s all try to be a gentler kinder nation!  Make somebody feel good today!

