Tapioca Pancakes

chopping veggies at camp

You know you’ve "arrived" when Brazilians come to your house and want to eat your Brazilian food!  Yes!  After how many years in Brazil, I have finally gotten to the point where I know my tapioca cakes will not stick, burn, or turn out too salty.  It took lots of trying, lots of plying too damp tapioca from too hot skillets and lots of crying. 

http://www.infonet.com.br
/saojoao/2006/receitasjuninas.asp


In the States this last furlough I got a non-stick double burner pancake pan with hopes that it would be my new miracle tapioca pan.  It is and so much more.  I just love it.  A dear little old lady in a ladies’ missionary circle group in North Carolina gave me the money to get it.  Thank you!  You know who you are!  (Don’t want any identity thieft going on by mentioning her name.)  Any way.  It not only works well but allows me to do more than one tapioca at a time.  My last non-stick skillet, which is a tapioca cake must, was just not big enough to do more than one at a time, which made the whole process, already slow, much slower indeed.  (Ooo, my dh would love that run-on sentence, but he never reads my blogs!)

Today I served tapioca cakes to a Brazilian pastor’s family and some neighbors.  Everyone was happy, except my kids!  Why?  Because the cakes were all eaten up and left very little for them!


So how do you make tapioca cakes?  That’s a tough question to answer.  First you need real tapioca flour or starch, not tapioca pearls.  Tapioca flour can be purchased from Bob’s Red Mill at    http://www.bobsredmill.com/tapioca-flour-mtx1532.html   The flour must be moistened with water.  I cannot say exactly how much water per cup of tapioca flour.  In fact this was my biggest problem in learning how to do tapioca.  Now I buy it pre-moistened from my fruit and vegetable lady at the local market.  I searched and searched for a recipe that really truly explains the process of how to do this and feel the one at Veg Web at   http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=8565.0   is the best I can find and says it all much better than the ten times I’ve written it out and torn up the scrap piece of paper.  So quick it out if you are truly interested.  We like them best with just magarine, Qualy brand preferably!  But a nice good buttery one would do fine.  Some people put guava fruit butter, some put coconut and some like grated cheese.  There are Brazilian restaurants that just serve tapioca cakes with all kinds of fillings.  We roll ours up, some people serve them like taco shells.

Here’s one more link to help you out if you decide to try this for yourself!  Go Brazil/ Tapioca  at    http://gobrazil.about.com/od/fooddrinkglossary/g/tapioca.htm


p.s.  I’m double posting these links because something is goofy with homeschoolblogger and my links these days.  Maybe it’s the slow net in Sobradinho, go figure!

p.s.s.  I’ll post some pics of us eating tapioca on this entry the next time I make some!

This post is dedicated to the lady who helped me on the road to tapioca perfection.
Thank you, Piana!
1 Comment

  1. Querida Michele,
    Que vontade que me deu de comer tua tapioca!!!
    Beijos,
    Karen – Fortaleza/CE

Comments are closed.