Working Man

This week my oldest has been working!  Working and making some money helping the camp handyman with some odd jobs on the man’s day off.  Monday, William helped with some painting at a neigbor’s house, mostly doors and windows.  Today he helped with some painting in the next villa.  One day last week he helped fixed some roof tiles on another house.  Monday, William left early and came back around 10 am to do his school work.  This was alright but left him pushing to get things done before lunch time.  This morning he got up super early and did most of his school work, went to help with the painting and then came back a little after 10 to join in with our two “do together” subjects for the day.  He got all of his school work finished for the day.

I am not so sure that I want this to become a habit, but it does encourage the good old work ethic.  We definitely as parents want to give that “gift” to our boys as so wonderfully pointed out in the film – The Ultimate Gift.  We recently watched this great movie thanks to a friend that passed it our way.  If you haven’t watched it yet, I highly recommend it.  It does have a few mild curse words in the beginning, so watch it with a TV Guardian if you can.

It’s not an easy task to instill the need of good, hard work in your children.  I’m often left wondering what to do when the lazy weed raises its head in my house, and it is often.  I can be thankful for the boy’s Papa who is a hard, working man and hope that his good example will do more than just rub off on each of our boys.

All the so-called “secrets of success” will not work unless you do.  Author Unknown

You cannot plough a field by turning it over in your mind.  Author Unknown

Much good work is lost for the lack of a little more.  Edward H. Harriman

The difference between try and triumph is a little umph. Author Unknown

Some people dream of success… while others wake up and work hard at it.  Author Unknown

5 Comments

  1. Good job William. My Daddy use to say hard work never hurt any one. But the saying that he always liked best was” if you work hard you’ll sleep well….” I hope you are sleeping well.

  2. I like that tri-umph quote! clever! Good for William. I think it´s not only in the work but in the satisfaction which sometimes is paid.

  3. Michelle, Your site is lovely. I’m just starting to dig in…
    On copywork: I like Queen as well, but my children: not. so. much. So I’ve just started them copying quotes I like, or little by little, copying a few lines from one of their favorite books.
    Annie

Comments are closed.