Plan, Baby, Plan!

Girl is happy 'cuz we're back in the school!

“Good fortune is what happens when opportunity meets with planning.”  Thomas Edison

“He who fails to plan, plans to fail.” an old proverb

“Expect the best, plan for the worst, and prepare to be surprised.”
Denis Waitley

I’ve known for a long time that my weekly planning and record keeping were lacking.  So this year I sought to plan ahead and dedicated Fridays and Saturdays to getting ready for the next week.  I spent hours and hours over the summer charting out our year, mapping out the first semester, and making specific plans for the first few weeks in each subject.  These hours don’t even include the time spent researching and purchasing curriculum earlier this spring.  During this our second week of school I was able to see some of the rewards of all that time spent!

Tonight I’m working, working, working to get lesson plans ready for the new week.  I’m super excited with a new website I happened upon and am using for my gradebook and for quizzing.  It’s called Engrade!  So far I have outlined several of our 7 subjects for the year.  I made accounts for each of my students.  I’ve created some quizzes, the first of which the boys took this week for World History.  I like the fact that the quizzes are graded and automatically placed into the gradebook for each boy.  Ah, I also made some flashcards for our Latin vocabulary and grammar.  I already feel 100% more accountable.  Just have to stick with it!

Got to get back to my planning!  There’s a link for my open “school” page on Engrade below.  The second link is for William’s letter writing assignment which we posted at Atha School Essays this morning.  Feel free to go by and leave any kind words or helpful criticism.  The letter was quickly proofread by Editor Mama, but is mostly “as-is!”

Have a great week!

http://www.engrade.com/athaschool

http://athaschoolessays.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/dear-cousins/

